In the Tuscan hills of Northern Italy is an abandoned castle. Castello di Sammezzano. This castle is one of the finest examples of Moorish architecture in Italy. Sadly, it has been left to decay for more than 20 years.
Was erected in the early 17th century by a Spanish nobleman. More than 200 years later, the 365-room palace was remodeled. After World War II, Sammezzano became a luxury hotel, but was closed in the 1990s.
Sammezzano, or the Castle of Sammezzano, is an Italian palazzo in Tuscany notable for its Moorish Revival architectural style.
The original palazzo was erected in about 1605 by the Spanish nobleman, Ximenes of Aragon. In the 19th century, Ferdinand Panciatichi Ximenes inherited the property and, between 1853 and 1889, remodeled it into one of the largest examples of Moorish Revival architecture. Umberto I, king of Italy, visited Ximenes at Sammezzano in 1878.
The palazzo served as a luxury hotel in the post WWII era, then was vacated and closed. A committee called FPXA 1813-2013, acronym for Ferdinand Panciatichi Ximenes d’Aragon, was organized in 2012 to attempt to restore and preserve the palazzo, which has 365 rooms, each with unique, Moorish decoration.
Abandoned since the 1990s, after plans to transform it into a luxury hotel fell through.
Along the west coast of Scotland near the town of Ayr is Dunure Castle. A very scenic part of Scotland often overlooked in favour of the highlands of Scotland. The site dates back to the 13th century but the castle was built around the 15th century.
Photo taken with the 36mp SonyA7R, 24mm prime lens with a 52mm polarising filter. A single RAW file.
Greenan Castle is a 16th-century tower house, possibly on the site of an ancient fort, around 2.5 miles south-west of Ayr in South Ayrshire, Scotland. The entrance lintel has the inscription, JK 1603 FMD, for John Kennedy of Baltersan and his third wife, Florence MacDowell, who held the lands, Greenan Mill, and salmon fishing rights on the River Doon at that time.
Eilean Donan is a small tidal island where three lochs meet, Loch Duich, Loch Long and Loch Alsh, in the western Highlands of Scotland. A picturesque castle that frequently appears in photographs, film and television dominates the island, which lies about 1 kilometre (0.62 mi) from the village of Dornie. Since the castle’s restoration in the early 20th century, a footbridge has connected the island to the mainland.
Eilean Donan is part of the Kintail National Scenic Area, one of 40 in Scotland. In 2001, the island had a recorded population of just one person, but there were no “usual residents” at the time of the 2011 census.
Eilean Donan, which means simply “island of Donnán”, is named after Donnán of Eigg, a Celtic saint martyred in 617. Donnán is said to have established a church on the island, though no trace of this remains.
The castle was founded in the thirteenth century, and became a stronghold of the Clan Mackenzie and their allies the Clan Macrae. In the early eighteenth century, the Mackenzies’ involvement in the Jacobite rebellions led in 1719 to the castle’s destruction by government ships. Lieutenant-Colonel John Macrae-Gilstrap’s twentieth-century reconstruction of the ruins produced the present buildings.